Special Honour for Dr. Prithwindra Mukherjee


Dear Friends,

We all remember that, in June 2009, Prithwindra Mukherjee, the Paris-based Indian scholar, was nominated Chevalier (“Knight”) in the Order of Arts and Letters by the French Ministry of Culture.

In 2010, while launching Prithwindra’s biography Bagha Jatin (National Book Trust of India), Hon’ble Shri Pranab Mukherjee qualified it as an adequate history of India’s struggle for freedom.

In June 2013, Jean-Claude Boulogne, President of the French Writers’ Guild (Société des Gens de Lettres) launched Prithwindra’s Tantot diese, tantot bemol – a trilingual anthology with 108 poems by Rabindranath Tagore – on the occasion of the centenary of the Nobel awarded to Tagore.

In June 2014, Prithwindra Mukherjee received from the French Academy (Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres) the 2014 Hirayama Award for his long career as an author, especially for his French Thesis on the pre-Gandhian phase (1893-1918) of India’s freedom movement.

According to the Decree of 1st January 2015, the French Prime Minister has warmly sanctioned the proposal of the French Minister of Education and Research to nominate Prithwindra Mukherjee Chevalier in the Order of Palmes academiques (Academic Laurels).

We take the opportunity to congratulate Dr. Prithwindra Mukherjee for this rare honour.

With warm regards,
Anurag Banerjee
Overman Foundation.


2 Replies to “Special Honour for Dr. Prithwindra Mukherjee

  1. Honouring Dr. Prithwindranath Mukherjee, the illustrious biographer of Bagha Jatin and recorder of the glorious history of India’s revolutionary movement and struggle for freedom is equal to honouring all the great patriots, revolutionaries and freedom fighters who laid down their lives for the emancipation of their Motherland. We invoke the blessings of Sri Bharatabhavani on him on this occasion.
    –Sadhu Prof. V. Rangarajan, Founder, Sri Bharatamata Mandir, Srinivasanagar, Krishnarajapuram, Bangalore 560 036.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *